Can I Be Your Daughter?

overflowing bucket

“Mr. Case, do you have any girls?”

The kids that hang out in my room before and after school ask the most random questions at the most random times.  Yup, today was one of them.

“No, I have only boys, but I have a daughter in law and a fiancé in law.  I do have a grandson I get to hang with.  I haven’t met my granddaughter yet.  Why do you ask?”

“Just wondering….”  Off they went.  About 10 minutes later, three girls all came back.  “Mr. Case, can we be your daughters?”  {heart starts to melt, pools in my eyes….}  How do you even answer that?

“Ok girls, what’s up?”  “Well,” one says, “we thought you would like some daughters.  You already are like a dad to us.”  “Yea,” a second one pipes in, “you feed us all the time!”  “You always have good ideas how we can do our projects and have the coolest gadgets we can play with.” We chat and laugh (and I give them something to eat), the girls are happy and scamper off to class.

I really needed that today.  It’s been a very rough year for me.  Some drastic changes in my church music program have left me almost depressed.  Heck, I’ll say it, yea, depressed.  For years, this was the way I filled my bucket.  Singing on the praise team and leading worship was filling my emotional bucket.   The change in July left me without the way to fill the bucket.  A month ago, I was so drained, my bucket was bone dry.

I went back after a break from choir to let the emotional wounds heal, but it’s not the same. I’m singing and praising the Lord, but my emotional bucket isn’t getting filled.  It’s sort of maintaining, but not filling.

School has been rough.  Oh, the kids are not bad, but very, very needy.  Overcrowded classes, not enough room to do labs, and kids that don’t understand the value of learning and the list goes on.  Mostly, the kids are dipping into my bucket faster than I can fill.

The ladies’ tennis team has been helping so much. These fantastic ladies are giving me so much love and allow me to serve them the best I can. They need a real tennis coach but I’m all they have and they let me work with them.  They fill my bucket a little more every day.

“Mr. Case” girl #3 peeks around the door.. “If I had a dad around, I’d like him to be like you” and she leaves.

My bucket can’t hold it. It’s over flowing.

Leave a Reply

