I have A Dream

I have A Dream

I have to admit, 2013 was the first time I read the entire “I Have A Dream” speech by Martin Luther King. I have heard excerpts, listed to the speech and even watched it on recordings. But to take the time and actually read and digest the speech, line by line, this was the first. I finally realized, Dr. King was not talking to just the people at the March on Washington. He was talking to ME!

I have a dream that someday my students will stop seeing themselves as “black” or “white” or “Mexican” or other labels. I have a dream that my students will strive for excellence instead of settling for minimalism. I have a dream that my students will reach beyond dependence on a government system and work hard to make a change. I have a dream that my students will start dreaming of what can be instead of crying about what others have.

Leave a Reply

